Drop Your Agenda, Be Patient, Watch Your Dog

Today's Pawsome Human: Cathy Brooks - When I become a leader in my own life, my dog's behaviour rights itself

Last chance to join & catch the Live Expert Panel recording

Panic to Peace - Holistic Approaches to Easing Anxiety in Rescue Dogs

A virtual conference for dog lovers: Feb 19-25, 2024

On Friday, I hosted the Live Expert Panel discussion where most of the speakers (except those from Australia for whom the time was in the middle of the night and a couple who couldn’t make it) came together to answer and discuss the most commonly asked questions, e.g.

  • Best practices for helping a traumatized rescue dog settle and gain confidence

  • Often overlooked signs of anxiety in rescue dogs

  • Integrating a new rescue dog into a multi-dog household

  • The impact of spaying and neutering on hormone disruption and anxiety

  • How to break through the "anxiety loop" between us and our dogs

If you’re registered, keep an eye out on Monday for the recording.

If you’re not registered yet but curious, I think it’s worth signing up just for that.

And if you decide to upgrade to a VIP ticket, you’ll have lifetime access to the recordings, the private podcast so you can listen on the go, extra speaker gifts, detailed session notes, AND you’ll help support The Phenix Advocacy Center for R+ Canine Professionals - 10% of VIP pass proceeds are donated to go towards supporting canine professionals who are committed to ethical training and who do not use force, pain, fear or intimidation with animals. Because their wellbeing is crucial to helping dogs!

The feedback so far has been heartwarming. I’ll do a proper debrief when it’s over but I already know that this wasn’t my last event of this kind.

A 2-minute sneak preview of the Expert Panel recording

This week’s Pawsome Human: Cathy Brooks - “When I Become a Leader in My Own Life, My Dog's Behaviour Rights Itself”

In this fascinating conversation, Cathy Brooks, a coach, communication ninja (her words :-), and dog lover, shares her journey and unique approach to dog training and coaching.

Reflecting on her childhood memories, her connections to dogs, and her professional trajectory, Cathy highlights the similarities between human and dog behaviors, emphasizing the role of communication, consequences, and leadership in both. 

She also touches on her path from transitioning to coaching, explaining how her way of communicating effectively with dogs has influenced her methodology in coaching humans. 

Cathy shares her techniques for handling group dynamics and conflict resolution via unusual lenses like orchestral music, ice hockey, and most importantly, dog-human interactions. 

Find out more about Cathy at https://www.unleashedleadershipllc.com/

The Hydrant Club she mentions: https://hydrantclub.com/

Gift yourself a time-out and listen in on our conversation https://share.descript.com/view/DTE8p8BTyl9

If you prefer to listen ... subscribe to the PODCAST

It’s on Apple podcasts and everywhere else, so you can access it from your favourite podcast app.

If you enjoy listening, please consider leaving a rating and review so other dog lovers can find the show and join the doggie fun.

Do you love taking photos of your dog(s)?

I certainly do.

Can’t say I’m an expert but ever since I had Chris Miller as the Pawsome Human of the Week, I’ve been paying more attention to lighting, camera angles and composition 😛

And it's remarkable what you can do with your phone camera when you have a few helpful pointers.

Here is an article with helpful tips that might just get you addicted too

Ready to get YOUR Soul Touched by Dogs mug?

Get a mug with a picture of YOUR dog 🐾🐾 

How about a mug with a picture of YOUR dog, for your morning coffee or as a gift, using the proceeds to sponsor dogs in need and help the people who help dogs?

If you’d like one, hit reply and let me know.

Send me a good-quality photo of your dog and I’ll create the design and send you a link where you can purchase it.

They get made to order so it takes 10-12 days to arrive. €15 + shipping.

(Shipping depends on where you are of course but will be somewhere around €5-12. I’ll check for you before I go and create the design, so there won’t be any surprises)

Get your Soul Touched by Dogs t-shirt

The moment I had the idea for the mugs, I knew I also wanted t-shirts 😝 and I’m super happy with mine 🐾🐾😊😊

If you want, you can get yours here https://mavericks.tpopsite.com/product/t-shirt-woman-soul-touched-by-dogs-dark-blue (they come in a few different colours)

If it doesn’t come in your size, let me know. I do work with another supplier so we can find an option that works for you.

Just like with the mugs, the proceeds are going to dogs in need.

And as always ..

If you know another Soul Touched by Dogs, please send them to https://soultouchedbydogs.com 🙏🙏🐾🐾

Until next week,

Anke