Your Only Job Is To Help Your Dog Relax

Today's Pawsome Human shows us how to deepen your bond with your dog through intuitive communication

Puppy Cai in 2011

Your Only Job Is To Help Your Dog Relax

Cai was an anxious puppy, always on edge. Perhaps not surprising given the trauma he experienced before he landed in the folds of my winter jacket, but that didn’t make it any easier.

I'd often find him hiding in the flower beds on the patio.

Leo and Cai got on okay but Leo tolerated rather than really liked him.

Cai pulled on the leash like crazy.

I can't count the number of times more or less well-meaning neighbours offered unsolicited advice about how to stop him from pulling.

"Don't use a harness, it encourages him to pull." - I tried collars and they made it worse ..

"Let him off the leash, it's cruel to have a dog on a leash." 🤪 said those who invariably had a story of a dog of theirs that got run over by a car ..

"Change direction when he pulls" - Good one .. it actually works but not with a dog as frantic as my Cai used to be.

"You have to show him who's boss!" came from those who pride themselves on intimidating their dogs into submission .. not the relationship I wanted to have with my dog.

Nothing helped.

What I did notice though was that Cai would pull more the more stressed I felt.

So I started to check in with myself when he started to throw his weight into the harness, and me relaxing invariably helped him relax.

Then I found Kevin Behan's book "Your Dog Is Your Mirror" and later The Trust Technique (highly recommended to connect with all 2 and 4-legged creatures :-)

And I started to really understand a simple and powerful rule:

Your only job is to help your dog relax.

Looking at Cai's behaviour through that lens changed what I saw.

Instead of a "nervous, agitated" dog, I saw a highly sensitive dog, permanently stressed by continuous sensory overload in an environment with cats, dogs, bicycles, scooters, yelling tourists, and strange noises distorted by the many walls - all right in his face all the time.

Fast-forward to now.

My work is no longer stressful, so I'm calm.

We live in a calm and peaceful area.

I've learned how to help him relax.

Cai still wears a harness but he no longer pulls. He's happy to be patted by visitors. He no longer freaks out over thunderstorms and fireworks.

A different dog.

What about you? Can you relate? What would you do differently if you saw your only job as helping your dog relax?

Hit reply if you feel inspired, I’d love to hear about your experience.

Pawsome Humans Interview: Daniel Rechnitzer

Daniel is ALL about intuition.

When we met in a breakout room during a networking call as part of a group we’re both in, I shared about Soul Touched by Dogs and he immediately messaged me to say that his work also includes intuitively communicating with animals, and dogs in particular.

I knew in an instant that I wanted him for a Pawsome Human interview.

I’m not one to doubt my intuitive hunches, and I’m glad I didn’t ..

In this Pawsome Human interview, we explore the power of intuition and how to apply it to deepen our connection with our dogs.

But Daniel didn’t just talk about it .. he demonstrated it by communicating with my pup Cai (my little shadow, the one you would have heard making funny noises if you’ve ever been in a Zoom call with me :-)

Gift yourself a time-out and listen in .. https://share.descript.com/view/Rf3nwJ8OUpR

To find out more about Daniel, check out his website https://www.intuitionwisdom.com/ and his books.

If you prefer to listen ... subscribe to the PODCAST

It’s on Apple podcasts and everywhere else, so you can access it from your favourite podcast app.

If you enjoy listening, please consider leaving a rating and review so other dog lovers can find the show and join the doggie fun.

Homemade Dog Shampoo: All Natural Oatmeal Dog Shampoo

I’ve not used a commercial shampoo for my hair in almost 10 years (I’m happy to share why and what I use instead to have hair that’s healthy and longer than I’ve ever been able to grow it, and with hardly any greys, if you’re interested)

I definitely always look for ways to lessen the chemical load, including, in fact, especially for the dogs. So this recipe definitely caught my attention.

Let us know what you think if you decide to try them. And if you have a favourite all-natural recipe, send it in and I’ll share it with other Souls Touched by Dogs.

Ready to get YOUR Soul Touched by Dogs mug?

The first Soul Touched by Dogs mugs have arrived at their owners’ house :-)

How about a mug with a picture of YOUR dog, for your morning coffee or as a gift, using the proceeds to sponsor dogs in need and help the people who help dogs?

If you’d like one, hit reply and let me know.

Send me a good-quality photo of your dog and I’ll create the design and send you a link where you can purchase it.

They get made to order so it takes 10-12 days to arrive. €15 + shipping.

(Shipping depends on where you are of course but will be somewhere around €5-12. I’ll check for you before I go and create the design, so there won’t be any surprises)

Get your Soul Touched by Dogs t-shirt

The moment I had the idea for the mugs, I knew I also wanted t-shirts 😝 and I’m super happy with mine 🐾🐾😊😊

If you want, you can get yours here https://mavericks.tpopsite.com/product/t-shirt-woman-soul-touched-by-dogs-dark-blue (they come in a few different colours)

If it doesn’t come in your size, let me know. I do work with another supplier so we can find an option that works for you.

Just like with the mugs, the proceeds are going to dogs in need.

Subscriber Submissions

I’d love to share YOUR favourite tips, toys, tools, tutorials, recipes .. whatever you’ve come to know and love that would help and benefit other Souls Touched by Dogs 🐾

Got something worth sharing? Hit reply and tell me about it.

Until next week,

Anke