Where Art Meets Love For Animals

Today's Pawsome Human will brighten your day, guaranteed

Is your dog anxious?

My pup Cai - the one that arrived unexpectedly, 6 years after Leo - had a tough start in life.

I remember walking down the hill from home to go into town when a neighbour saw me from a distance and flagged me down.

“I need you to help me,” he said.

I was wondering what he might need my help for when he opened his jacket and the dark eyes of a tiny black puppy stared at me.

”I was playing the guitar on the street corner when I saw this guy, yelling and shaking the little creature, swinging back to violently throw it to the ground. I ran to him begging him not to hurt the puppy. I told him to give it to me if he didn’t want it. So, here I am .. but I play the guitar in the street, I don’t have a life to raise a puppy. You already have a dog, you’ve got to help me!”

Next thing I know, the little pup snuggled into the warmth of my jacket.

The plan was to find him a good home.

Yes, you guessed it, that’s not what happened .. 😝😝

But that's a story for another day.

What I clearly remember is how anxious and nervous he was. Just like humans growing up in a violent household, he was hyper-sensitive.

A lot of my learning has been driven by a desire to find a way to help him relax.

So when I come across an event about pet anxiety, it gets my attention.

It might be too late but just in case ..

I’ve been listening in on a virtual summit on Pet Anxiety, hosted by Dr. Edward Bassingthwaighte (Dr. Ed as he’s called) I love his work so you’ll definitely hear me talk more about him.

The summit ends today so hopefully you can still sign up. https://join.petsummits.com/109a8187/4

If not, check out https://petsummits.com They have plenty of events going on.

Pawsome Humans Interview: Tanja Hassel

When art meets love for animals, magic happens.

I could feel it the moment we got on the first call and I saw Tanja Hassel's colourful background .. not a virtual one but her creative studio in London.

And I knew I wanted to talk to her for a Pawsome Humans interview.

What Tanja is looking to achieve with her bright and eye-catching art is surprisingly similar to what our dogs offer on a day-to-day basis.

Grab a cuppa and listen to our 17-minute conversation: https://share.descript.com/view/atWeAYK8qd7

Get in touch with Tanja on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tanjahassel_art

One of her gorgeous prints or cards might just brighten up your day :-) They also make great gifts.

And yes, she accepts commission work ..

And if you prefer to listen ..

💥💥💥 Soul Touched by Dogs 💥💥💥 now has a podcast so you can listen to the Pawsome Human interviews on the go

It’s on Apple podcasts and everywhere else, so you can access it from your favourite podcast app.

If you enjoy listening, please consider leaving a rating and review so other dog lovers can find the show and join the doggie fun.

If you haven’t belly-laughed today ..

I’ve seen this video so many times, and it never fails to crack me up. Enjoy!

Get YOUR Soul Touched by Dogs mug

The first Soul Touched by Dogs mugs have arrived at their owners’ house :-)

It’s one of the things I’ve been wanting to offer .. mugs with a picture of YOUR dog, for your morning coffee or as a gift, using the proceeds to sponsor dogs in need and help the people who help dogs.

If you’d like one, hit reply and let me know.

Send me a good-quality photo of your dog and I’ll create the design and send you a link where you can purchase it.

They get made to order so it takes 10-12 days to arrive. €15 + shipping.

(Shipping depends on where you are of course but will be somewhere around €5-12. I’ll check for you before I go and create the design, so there won’t be any surprises)

Get your Soul Touched by Dogs t-shirt

The moment I had the idea for the mugs, I knew I also wanted t-shirts 😝 and I’m super happy with mine 🐾🐾😊😊

If you want, you can get yours here https://mavericks.tpopsite.com/product/t-shirt-woman-soul-touched-by-dogs-dark-blue (they come in a few different colours)

If it doesn’t come in your size, let me know. I do work with another supplier so we can find an option that works for you.

Just like with the mugs, the proceeds are going to dogs in need.

Now I’m off thinking about bags, cushion covers, mouse pads and all kinds of Soul Touched by Dogs things 😛 Let me know what would rock your boat!

Subscriber Submissions

I’d love to share YOUR favourite tips, toys, tools, tutorials, recipes .. whatever you’ve come to know and love that would help and benefit other Souls Touched by Dogs 🐾

Got something worth sharing? Hit reply and tell me about it.

Until next week,

Anke