• Soul Touched by Dogs
  • Posts
  • Happy New Year 🎉 Creating Harmony with Dogs: The Key to a Happy Relationship

Happy New Year 🎉 Creating Harmony with Dogs: The Key to a Happy Relationship

Today's Pawsome Human: Daphné Singer - SavingSlippers

Wishing you a Happy New Year 💥🎉

I’m not one to sit down with a notebook and plan out an entire year (maybe I should but I don’t do well with “shoulds” 😛😛)

But the last couple of days of the year are an invitation to reflect.

Soul Touched by Dogs has definitely been one of the highlights of the year for me.

It started with a desire to change the narrative around how we relate to dogs - getting away from seeing them as toys for the kids or tools to get what we want.

Nothing wrong with kids loving a dog, or dogs helping us in a million different ways IF we treat them with respect and give them the care they deserve.

My initial idea was a big canine center, run as a business, offering all kinds of dog-related services like vets, training, agility and other sports, grooming, daycare and doggie hotel etc. to fund rescues and educational projects.

The problem with huge projects like that - especially when just the thought of dealing with properties, licenses, bureaucracy, staff etc. drains the life out of me - is that they tend to remain just that .. a lovely but fluffy idea.

Until it occurred to me to ask myself what I’d tell a client who comes to me with a big fluffy idea like that 😝

"What's the tiniest step you can take, right now with what you already have?"

Oh .. I can write a newsletter.

I can interview people.

I can host a podcast.

I can host virtual conferences.

I can create a community.

And yes, the community will launch on the back of the virtual conference in February 🙌🙌💃💃

Panic to Peace - Holistic Approaches to Easing Anxiety in Rescue Dogs

A virtual conference for dog lovers: Feb 19-25, 2024

It’s for those who have adopted a dog who is anxious, perhaps reactive, struggling to overcome trauma or separation anxiety.

And it’s for those who are considering adopting a dog but might hesitate because they worry about the “baggage” a rescue dog might come with.

I’ve invited wonderful experts who will give you kind, gentle, holistic, connection-based tools and solutions so you feel equipped to support your dog.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll share more about the topics we’ll cover.

Stay tuned 🐾

Today’s Pawsome Human is one of the speakers so you get a little sneak preview ..

This week’s Pawsome Human: Daphné Singer - Creating Harmony with Dogs: The Key to a Happy Relationship

Daphné and I were introduced by another expat lady living in Spain.

Turns out, Daphné and I have even more in common than that:

We’re both German.

And we both had a first dog called Leo who inspired us to learn whatever we could to be the best “pawrent” we could be.

Daphné turned her passion for dogs into her business.

In this episode, she shares her story of how she became a dog trainer so she could help dog owners develop a trusted relationship with their dogs, based on empathy and understanding, rather than just tossing treats and barking commands.

Gift yourself a time-out and listen in https://share.descript.com/view/mc0ojwjw3ue

To get in touch with Daphné follow her on Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/savingslippers/
or check out her website https://www.savingslippers.com/freebie 

If you prefer to listen ... subscribe to the PODCAST

It’s on Apple podcasts and everywhere else, so you can access it from your favourite podcast app.

If you enjoy listening, please consider leaving a rating and review so other dog lovers can find the show and join the doggie fun.

Did you know your dog can donate blood?

To be honest, I hadn’t given it much thought until I came across this post on social media.

When our dogs need medical care, we take it for granted that there will be blood for a transfusion available if needed but where does the blood come from ..

To find out more, here is a UK charity that explains what’s involved https://www.petbloodbankuk.org/pet-owners/dog-blood-donation/

If you know of a service near you, please hit reply and let me know.

Ready to get YOUR Soul Touched by Dogs mug?

Get a mug with a picture of YOUR dog 🐾🐾 

How about a mug with a picture of YOUR dog, for your morning coffee or as a gift, using the proceeds to sponsor dogs in need and help the people who help dogs?

If you’d like one, hit reply and let me know.

Send me a good-quality photo of your dog and I’ll create the design and send you a link where you can purchase it.

They get made to order so it takes 10-12 days to arrive. €15 + shipping.

(Shipping depends on where you are of course but will be somewhere around €5-12. I’ll check for you before I go and create the design, so there won’t be any surprises)

Get your Soul Touched by Dogs t-shirt

The moment I had the idea for the mugs, I knew I also wanted t-shirts 😝 and I’m super happy with mine 🐾🐾😊😊

If you want, you can get yours here https://mavericks.tpopsite.com/product/t-shirt-woman-soul-touched-by-dogs-dark-blue (they come in a few different colours)

If it doesn’t come in your size, let me know. I do work with another supplier so we can find an option that works for you.

Just like with the mugs, the proceeds are going to dogs in need.

And as always ..

If you know another Soul Touched by Dogs, please send them to https://soultouchedbydogs.com 🙏🙏🐾🐾

Until next week,

Anke