• Soul Touched by Dogs
  • Posts
  • Changing the Narrative: Teaching Soft Skills to Children in Schools With the Help of Shelter Dogs

Changing the Narrative: Teaching Soft Skills to Children in Schools With the Help of Shelter Dogs

Today's Pawsome Human: Jon Garstang - The Positive Pet Project

This really hit me for some reason.

It made me think.

Why do I love dogs so much?

I always thought it was because of my early experience with Bodo, my nan’s dog, who “helped her look after the baby”.

But maybe there is more to it.

Maybe, it helps me heal from when I needed help that never came.

Maybe, I realized that I can’t save people.

And I definitely believe animals deserve more respect and care than many of them get.

We need to change the narrative! has been a huge driver behind Soul Touched by Dogs.

And I always say that looking after dogs in need in shelters is really only the “emergency room”, a bandaid.

Real change in the way dogs are treated can only be achieved when children are taught something different.

Turns out this week’s Pawsome Human does exactly that .. that’s why I’m so happy to introduce him to you.

This week’s Pawsome Human: Jon Garstang - The Positive Pet Project

Jon has been working with dogs for ages but what most fascinates him is the human-dog relationship. He's seen that real change can only happen when we approach things from both ends of the leash.

In this inspiring episode, Jon shares his story from working with dogs and their guardians in the UK to volunteering at dog rescue centers all over the world.

If you - like me - have ever heard yourself say, "We have to change the narrative. We need to teach children how to respect and care for animals," you'll love this episode!

Jon talks about The Positive Pet Project, his wonderful initiative of going into schools with rescue dogs and teaching children all-important soft skills like empathy, discipline, communication, and self-control. And he shares how he wrote a book about it and managed to get that included in the school curriculum in Rhodes where he now lives.

The exciting thing is that he's done the groundwork for the project to turn into a global initiative. So if you're thinking, "Oh, I'd love to do something like that where I live!" get in touch with Jon!

Gift yourself a time-out and listen in .. https://share.descript.com/view/AFbVLdGXvMP

If you prefer to listen ... subscribe to the PODCAST

It’s on Apple podcasts and everywhere else, so you can access it from your favourite podcast app.

If you enjoy listening, please consider leaving a rating and review so other dog lovers can find the show and join the doggie fun.

How to Stop Puppies From Chewing Up the House

Leo LOVED shoes.

Leather shoes.

The better the quality of the leather, the more he loved them.

He ate my expensive flamenco dance shoe look-alikes, and 2 pairs of hand-made leather sandals. He had a go at my dad’s sandals and a whole bunch of other things I don’t even remember.

Leo loving fabric scraps from making 50+ dresses for a dance performance 🤪🤪

The thing is, he spent his days with me in the sewing studio, and he NEVER touched a client’s fabric or dress (ok .. except that one time he ate a client’s sock 🤪🤪🤣🤣 to avoid me taking it away from him ..)

But shoes? The only way I could save them from Leo’s teeth was to keep them out of reach.

That’s why I had to giggle when I found this article https://www.rover.com/blog/stop-puppies-chewing-house/

What about you?

Do you have a chewer? What’s worked for you, what hasn’t?

I’d love to hear.

Ready to get YOUR Soul Touched by Dogs mug?

Get a mug with a picture of YOUR dog 🐾🐾 

How about a mug with a picture of YOUR dog, for your morning coffee or as a gift, using the proceeds to sponsor dogs in need and help the people who help dogs?

If you’d like one, hit reply and let me know. Orders in time for Christmas need to be placed by Dec 10th at the very latest.

Send me a good-quality photo of your dog and I’ll create the design and send you a link where you can purchase it.

They get made to order so it takes 10-12 days to arrive. €15 + shipping.

(Shipping depends on where you are of course but will be somewhere around €5-12. I’ll check for you before I go and create the design, so there won’t be any surprises)

Get your Soul Touched by Dogs t-shirt

The moment I had the idea for the mugs, I knew I also wanted t-shirts 😝 and I’m super happy with mine 🐾🐾😊😊

If you want, you can get yours here https://mavericks.tpopsite.com/product/t-shirt-woman-soul-touched-by-dogs-dark-blue (they come in a few different colours)

If it doesn’t come in your size, let me know. I do work with another supplier so we can find an option that works for you.

Just like with the mugs, the proceeds are going to dogs in need.

Panic to Peace - Holistic Approaches to Easing Anxiety in Rescue Dogs .. coming up in February 2024

I’m inviting experts in the areas of dog behaviour, nutrition, health, wellbeing - with a holistic, connection-based approach - for a virtual conference to share their wisdom to help us help our rescue dogs.

If you could get your most pressing question answered, what would you ask?

And as always ..

If you know another Soul Touched by Dogs, please send them to https://soultouchedbydogs.com 🙏🙏🐾🐾

Until next week,

Anke